Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 3rd, 2008

“Change” is the theme for April for the Take It Further Challenge.  That coincides nicely with my life right now, as I am preparing for the major changes of moving back across the country and starting a new job in June.  This month I will be traveling to Virginia in conjunction with that new position, so my time for projects is by necessity going to get disrupted.

This morning in my daily reading of The Rule of Benedict:  Insights for the Ages, Joan Chittister’s commentary includes this quote from Sanskrit:

Necessity changes a course but never a goal.

That seems quite appropriate for this month’s TIF theme and my life.

How convenient that this month I am also taking an online class in Journal Making with Sue Bleiweiss.  It was also convenient that I happened to have in my fabric stash some fabrics that come pretty close to the TIF color palette.  So, of course, I’m using them to make my first journal.

I’ll be able to complete both the TIF project and the first journal in one fell swoop this week, so as I prepare to travel later in the month (I’m not sure when yet), I won’t become quite so harried trying to get everything done. 

A journal seems to me to be the perfect project for the theme of change.  I’m going to use mine to journal as I approach my new job (I’m a minister and in the United Methodist church, it’s called an appointment).  I’ll be able to write down my thoughts, ideas, and impressions as I embark on this next phase of my life and ministry.

DSCN1782_edited

Today I’ve completed the cover for the journal and will work on the inside pages this afternoon.

Here is a picture of the outside.  On top of the somewhat “chaotic” paisley print I’ve couched perle cotton threads for texture and interest that weave across the cover representing the paths of change that intersect one another, and the consistent moving forward of change.  (You can see it a little bit better if you click on the picture for an enlargement.)  There are threads in two shades of brown, dark red, dark green, and cream.  Of course, only the cream one shows in the pictures, and it’s the one I “bobbled” the most in getting it stitched down.

But in real life the couched threads really do add some texture and movement to the cover.  I also think of the red thread as representing a constant of faith, trust, and continually moving toward the goal.DSCN1783_edited  

On the inside left is a pocket for tucking in miscellaneous things, and I’ve used two complementary fabrics that bring out more of the red.  Although I’m not sure red is actually the right color in Sharon’s palette, I saw it that way on my first glance of the picture that was her inspiration, and was excited to be able to finally use one of my favorite colors.  As Sharon stated, her suggested palette is just a jumping off point, anyway.

Here are front and back views of the closed journal cover:

DSCN1784_edited

DSCN1785_edited

Read Full Post »